Top 5 Wednesday: Authors You Want to Read More From

April 26th 2017

Top 5 Wednesdays was created by Lainey at GingerReadsLainey and also run by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. You can check out the GoodReads group here!

These are some of my all time favourite authors and books. I’ve included the ones that I’ve read, and the ones that are coming soon/that have been recently released (that I will be reading soon!). As always, the cover pictures are of the versions that I own. Enjoy!


Cassandra Clare

cassandra-clare

I’ve undoubtedly mentioned this before, but if I was forced to choose my favourite author of all time, it would be Cassandra Clare. I simply adore the Shadowhunter world, and the fact that the different series are linked by this common world. My favourite thing about all of Cassandra Clare’s books are the characters relationships with each other, possibly the most beautiful to ever exist. I would recommend her books to everyone, because there are so many different elements to them. If you tried City of Bones and found it a difficult start, I promise perseverance will deliver many rewards, they only get better from there.

Books I’ve Read:

Coming Soon:


Pierce Brown

Pierce_Brown_-_headshot_©_Joan_Allen_Photo.jpg

Books I’ve Read:

Yet another absolutely amazing series, I read/listened to these books on audible (would definitely recommend the audiobooks) and instantly loved them. I read them all one after the other because they were just so gripping and wonderful. I cannot praise this series enough, it’s a brilliantly imagined futuristic world in which Pierce Brown manages to combine everything that I love. His new book is set in the same world, but I believe it’s a fair amount of time into the future (30 years?), and is sure to be just as fantastic as the original trilogy. Would definitely recommend, especially to those who love sic-fi.

Coming Soon:


Rainbow Rowell

rehost-2016-9-13-c2f3a7c9-d39a-49b7-a4e2-d1ace9488607

I’m not normally a huge fan of contemporary books, but I love everything Rainbow Rowell writes. The stories are all completely unique and individual, with special characters and relationships, which have so much variety. The only criticism it is possible to make of these books is that they don’t go on for longer, because I always finish Rainbow Rowell’s books wishing that they could have kept going forever. Although she mainly writes for the contemporary genre, Carry On is a superbly written fantasy-esque book. The beauty of these books is that they deal with a number of real life issues, which many people struggle with, in a touching and heartwarming way, providing hope and comfort.

Books I’ve Read:


V. E. Schwab

3e8C3lEE.jpg

There can be no doubt that V. E. Schwab has a genuine gift when it comes to writing. I’ve read books from three of her trilogies/series, and every single one of them feels completely original and unique. In each of her different worlds, V. E. Schwab successfully creates entirely different and unique forms of magic. Her books have been set in the past, present, and future, and encompass almost all aspects of society, from the incredibly wealth, to those struggling to survive. There is truly no story that V. E. Schwab cannot write. I would highly recommend her, and I can practically guarantee that her books encompass something for everyone, and I love them all.

Books I’ve Read:

Coming Soon:


Ally Carter

0102ca235df0895605516eaa702a85b0.jpg

For me, Ally Carter’s books are the ultimate definition of comfort reading. I can’t remember how many years ago I started reading her books, but I feel like they have been a constant in my life for so long. The series tell very different stories, but they all contain specific elements which are fundamental in creating a brilliant and captivating story. They all have a kick-ass female lead, elements of mystery and intrigue and many, many, charming love interests.

Books I’ve Read:

Will Read Soon:


I know this is shorter/less wordy than my posts normally are, but I’ve had a really hectic week – we’re heading into exam season in the UK, so life’s going to be fairly stressful for the next month and a half (it’s terrifying how close they are/how soon they’ll be over). Anyway, I’m going to try and keep updating, mainly because I really enjoy making these posts, but please bear with me if it’s slightly slow going for a bit.

Thanks for reading, Elsie x

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Authors You Want to Read More From

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

