Mystery Blogger Award

Hi everyone, I was recently tagged by @maxxesbooktopia to complete the Mystery Blogger Award, so a huge thank you to Max. Also a huge thank you to Okoto of @okotoenigmasblog, for creating this tag – be sure to check out her blog.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 20.31.47


The Rules:

  1. Put the award logo/image on your blog
  2. List the rules
  3. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  4. Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well
  5. Answer the questions from the person who tagged you
  6. Tell your readers three things about yourself
  7. Nominate 10 – 20 people (let them know by commenting on their blog)
  8. Set 5 questions for the people you tag to answer
  9. Share a link to your best post

Max’s Questions:

     1. What is your favourite book and why?

This is such a difficult question to answer, and I honestly don’t know what my absolute favourite book is. That being said, a book that I absolutely love, which would definitely be close to the top of the list is Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare.

tumblr_m6yrm3pc0o1r3oy4vo1_500

It is the third and final book in The Infernal Devices Trilogy. The entire trilogy is beautifully written, but this third book is my favourite of the three, because it perfectly rounds off the whole story. The relationships between the characters are so heartbreakingly beautiful, and I have never felt such a strong attachment to a set of characters, as I do to the characters from this book – so it is definitely one of my all time favourites!


     2. What is your least favourite genre and why?

This is another really difficult question for me, because I read and love books from so many different genres. However, if I was forced to choose my least favourite genre I would probably have to go with non-fiction. Don’t get me wrong, I have read a fair amount of non-fiction books, and it’s definitely a great genre, but I personally will always prefer a brilliantly imagined story – especially if it includes some fantasy/magical elements.


     3. What is your guilty pleasure read?

My guilty pleasure read at the moment is the Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan, because it is technically a Middle Grade (I’m from the UK, I think this is what it’s called…?) book. It’s a guilty pleasure because the writing is so simple, and I should probably be reading something more complex – especially as an English lit student – but Rick Riordan got me so attached to the characters when I was younger, and I can’t quite let them go.


     4. What is your least favourite book and why? (and would you sacrifice it to the fire?)

Oh my goodness! All of these questions are so difficult! I feel really bad choosing a least favourite book because I know that authors put so much work into writing these novels. Also, everyone has different opinions about what they like/don’t like in a book, so my choice might differ from other people’s. That being said, if I had to choose one book that I just didn’t enjoy (and didn’t even finish) it would be Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo. She’s actually a Pulitzer Prize winner, so there are definitely people out there who appreciate her style of writing. However, even though I didn’t like this book, I don’t think I would ever be able to bring myself to sacrifice any book to a fire.


5. What would you do if you were in a ‘reading slump’?

My general cure for a reading slump is to revert to my comfort reads (mine is Cassandra Clare), because it’s really important to keep reading, and not just shut out books – in my case in favour of TV shows. Reading a book that you love/a new book by your favourite author is in my experience a great way to get back into reading.


Three Things About Myself:

  1. I’m currently 17 and in my penultimate year of school in the UK.
  2. My all time favourite food is pasta carbonara (but basically any pasta will do).
  3. My dream job is being a movie director/producer.

My Best Posts:

  • My Top Ten Trilogies (can be found here)
  • Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor: Review (can be found here)

I’m Tagging:

My Questions:

  1. What is your favourite genre?
  2. What book were you not expecting to enjoy but did?
  3. What book were you expecting to enjoy but didn’t?
  4. What book are you most anticipating the release of?
  5. What is a book set in the place you are from?

I really enjoyed doing this tag and thinking of my answers to some pretty difficult questions, and making up some questions myself. I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s answers to my questions!

Thanks for reading, Elsie x

4 thoughts on “Mystery Blogger Award

Add yours

  1. Aah, thanks so much for tagging me! YAY CLOCKWORK ANGEL. Haha, I’m actually supposed to be reading Behind the Beautiful Forevers for a book club; I saw a play based on it a while ago but I’ve just sort of given up, to be honest, as I wasn’t enjoying the book much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, thanks so much for the tag! ❤

    Funnily enough, I still haven’t read Trials of Apollo or Clockwork Princess – which is ridiculous because I love both authors! 😂 And you’re only one year older than me! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I do agree that that last Infernal Devices book was magical. I was shocked by how well she ended everything and was so impressed. I didn’t think there was any way she could, but it was amazing. And I agree with non-fiction.It just sometimes doesn’t have the appeal as the magical work of fiction. Wonderful post, and it was so much fun to read your answers. I’m so behind on my tags right now, but thanks so much for nominating me and I can’t wait to do your questions. Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

